Skip to main content

Peter Cowhey

Peter Cowhey is dean of the School of Global Policy & Strategy and Qualcomm Endowed Chair in Communications and Technology Policy at UC San Diego. He is an expert on the future of communications and information technology markets and policy, specializing in US trade policy, foreign policy, the Internet, and international corporate strategy.

Cowhey has extensive experience in government. In the Clinton administration, he served as the chief of the International Bureau of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and negotiated many of the US international agreements for telecommunications and satellite services. He had responsibility for antitrust decisions involving the communications and satellite industries. In 2009, he served a 12-month assignment as the senior counselor to Ambassador Ron Kirk in the Office of the United States Trade Representative, playing a key role in the strategic agenda for trade policy. Subsequently, Cowhey served on a bi-national experts group appointed by the US and Chinese governments to research and advise on innovation policy.

Cowhey's two most recent books are Digital DNA: Disruption and the Challenges for Global Governance and Transforming Global Information and Communication Markets: The Political Economy of Innovation. He has a PhD in political science from UC Berkeley.

Recent Publications

Recommendations for the Next U.S. Administration
Nov. 3, 2020 | IGCC Experts Weigh In
The task of creating a new vision—and practical strategy—for protecting and strengthening America, is urgent. Here IGCC experts Peter Cowhey, Michael Davidson, Bethany Goldblum, Steven Helfand, Jeannette Money, George Rutherford, and Susan Shirk chart a path for the next U.S. administration on trade policy; climate change; nuclear weapons; global development and aid; migration; COVID-19; and China.

  • communications and information technology markets and policy
  • US trade policy
  • foreign policy
  • the Internet
  • international corporate strategy
IGCC Director (1999‒2006)