Skip to main content

Bethany Goldblum

Bethany L. Goldblum is a member of the research faculty in the Department of Nuclear Engineering at UC Berkeley, and the founder and director of the Nuclear Policy Working Group, an interdisciplinary team of undergraduate and graduate students focused on developing policy solutions to strengthen global nuclear security. She also serves as director of education for the Nuclear Science and Security Consortium, a $25M grant established by the National Nuclear Security Administration to train the next generation of nuclear security experts.Her research focuses on fundamental and applied nuclear physics, neutron detection, scintillator characterization, indirect physical sensing for proliferation detection, and nuclear security policy.

Goldblum received a PhD in nuclear engineering from UC Berkeley in 2007. She served as a Clare Boothe Luce Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellow at Berkeley before joining the nuclear engineering faculty at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville in August 2010. In January 2012, she returned to Berkeley as a member of the research faculty. Goldblum maintains active collaborations with the United States Department of Energy national laboratories and is an affiliate at Lawrence Berkeley, Lawrence Livermore, and Sandia National Laboratories. She has been involved with the Public Policy and Nuclear Threats boot camp nearly since its inception, and acted as director of the program since 2013.

  • fundamental nuclear physics for nuclear security applications
  • nuclear-plasma interactions
  • scintillator characterization
  • nuclear energy and weapons policy

Director of education, Nuclear Science and Security Consortium (2012‒)

Program director, Public Policy and Nuclear Threats (2014‒)

Alumnus, Public Policy and Nuclear Threats